Jess Gallagher Summer & Winter Paralympic Medallist

Jess inducted into Victorian Honour Roll of Women 2018


Victorian Honour Roll of Women 2018

What an incredible honour to be inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll of Women for 2018.

Alongside 19 other phenomenal women, their stories an backgrounds as varied and diverse as they come. My family and I were delighted to be able to attend a luncheon held in celebration of the inductees and what an incredibly inspiring event it was.

An opportunity to hear about each women and how they have contributed to make our world a better place. I was in awe of every single one of them and humbled to be invited to speak on behalf of the 20 women to share a little about my story. It's not often I get nervous speaking these days but on this occasion I was.

I felt an enormous sense of importance in speaking on behalf of 19 women who up until this day I had not met before. In listening to their stories over the course of the event I took note of the significance others have played in their ability to do what they do, this resonated strongly with me and my story so I took the opportunity to thank those in the audience on behalf of the inductees, for without the love and support of those around us whether it be family, friends, colleagues or strangers I feel it's safe to say none of us would have achieved what we have without them and in this lies the beauty of our world. That together we can all make a difference. ​

To learn more about the incredible women inducted you can find their bios here:​http://visit​

Victorian Government Minister for Women Media Release:​ Twenty Victorian Women Awarded Prestigious Honour​

Twenty outstanding Victorian women have been inducted into the 2018 Victorian Honour Roll of Women.​

Minister for Women Natalie Hutchins announced the 2018 inductees at a ceremony at the Arts Centre today hosted by comedian Nelly Thomas.​

This year’s inductees join more than 600 other Victorian women who have been inducted since the Honour Roll first began in 2001.​

Inductees for 2018 include a pioneering chemist, the producer of hit film The Dressmaker, an oncologist advocating for tobacco-free finance, and an Elder of the Koori Courts.​

The 2018 inductees are:​

Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AC​

Dr Maria Dudycz​

Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton​

Professor Belinda Gabbe​

Dr Jessica Gallagher​

Ms Michelle Gallaher​

The Honourable Monica Gould​

Associate Professor Clare Hanlon​

Ms Sherene Hassan​

Ms Josie Howie​

Ms Alana Johnson​

Dr Bronwyn King​

Ms Ellen Koshland​

Ms Sue Maslin​

Mrs Pamela Pedersen​

Professor Frances Separovic FAA​

Leading Senior Constable Maha Sukkar​

Emeritus Professor Collette Tayler​

Professor Svetha Venkatesh​

Miss Evelyn Maude West​

For further information on the Victorian Honour Roll and this year’s inductees, http://visit​

Originally published by the Minister for Women. 09/03/2018:​